The Diversity in Tech Community in Dublin & Ireland

[Updated 2017-04-24] Update with more groups below in the listings, thanks to Glenn Davidson and Victoria McCallum for more info on groups in the north


I’ve been meaning to write this post for ages, well since February, about all the women/diversity in tech groups we have around Dublin and Ireland.

2017 has been interesting, at least three new Women in Tech groups that I know of popped up in Dublin. It’s amazing as back in 2008, I wished there was at least one group, and I thought my wishes were answered when Ireland Girl Geek Dinner started… but I wished there were more programming groups that have more people than just your atypical coder that attend techie events.

I co-founded Coding Grace (diversity-friendly coding workshops) which started in May 2013, and founded PyLadies Dublin (Python coding evenings) which had its first meetup in October 2013. It was certainly different to run and mentor workshops, and great to have technical events that’s not just about talks, and have some hands-on coding evenings or interactive workshops that are inclusive and friendly to everyone.

Another group that I want to mention is WITS (Women in Technology and Science) Ireland, who have been around since 1990, with amazing patrons like our first female Irish president, Mary Robinson, Mary McAleese and the current president, Michael D. Higgins. What makes this group different is that WITS Ireland is involved with gender equality policies on the government level in the areas of STEM and have members in public and private sectors.

It’s amazing that we have so many diversity groups, but I am not the only to think that we should be careful that we don’t fragment the community. The tech community (especially in Dublin) is small, the diversity community is even smaller. I hope that all organisers will collectively be in touch with one another and co-ordinate (if possible), or even just let folks know in advance when their event(s) are on. Plus it’s a great way to give heads up and we can shout out about each other’s events. Maybe some folks don’t want to, that’s ok, I just want to be friends with everyone! :-D

Diversity in Tech

Here’s the list of groups (including mine) that I know of, if you know of more, please send them on to me at vicky@eventgeek.ie, and I’ll update this post (or follow up with another one):-

Other group(s) in the past, these groups are currently inactive, maybe you might be interested in helping out:-

BTW, all groups above would love you to help them out, don’t be a stranger. I know I would be over the moon to get more volunteers to help me out and run/organise events. :-)

More shameless self-promos #

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Not enough Adult Coding Workshops in Ireland

During lunch at a recent Coding Grace Introduction to HTML5/CSS3 workshop, people were telling me how hard it is to find short adult coding workshops. They found Coding Grace after googling for “Adult coding workshops in Dublin”. Which... Continue →