The weather outside is frightful…

The last of my major events for 2014 wrapped up last night. I made cookies for last night’s PyLadies Dublin meetup, but I think that the crappy wet weather and traffic means lower than expected turnout.

Pic of the py-frosted cookies (and cat-shaped as well).

But it doesn’t matter, the whole point was making a space available for people to code and chat. Good thing I turned up early as the room wasn’t vacant and reception didn’t know about the booking. I got the wi-fi password off her as well. Strangely enough that the wi-fi works better when the classes were over later in the evening.

I planned to work on Coding Grace website as I had some work on it during Dublin GameCraft two weeks ago (my time flies). I am glad I took advice from Mick to note down how I set things up as he showed me how to use Heroku as my sandbox and fork the app and its settings so I can do whatever I want. The problem was that one of the ports was blocked by the college we were in, so last night I had no access to my dev copy of postgres database online… no worries, I just tweaked some list settings and I realised I had commits I haven’t pushed yet. So did all that. The rest of the evening was writing out the lesson plan for my Learn Python by making a text-based adventure game, tis hard to write. Kudos to those who have to write them! I also found that Pandoc converts Markdown to ReStructured Text quite well (and vice-versa), so that helped a lot porting from an existing file. I really hate ReST… this tool just makes it easier for me. :-)

The December hackpad is quiet but I hope the next few would be more active. I’m looking forward to a wee break during Christmas… ramping down the last two weeks didn’t seem to work so well for me. I don’t know why?!?

Maybe on my down time, I spend more of it writing here. I have been neglecting it for a bit.

In the meantime I have recently been invited to join irishtechstartups.slack.com, and great to see familiar faces. Dublin (and Ireland) community is quite small. And I love that they have a diversity channel as well. Everyone is focussed on why having a Code of Conduct is important, and so supportive to make the community as inclusive and welcome as possible. Here’s their current version of the Code of Conduct.

On that note, I would like to share with you this awesome link about the Code of Conduct and FAQ about it (thanks to [Paul Watson](paulmwatson.com) for sharing on the #diversity channel)

http://www.ashedryden.com/blog/codes-of-conduct-101-faq

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

A new year, a new start. *pulls up sleeves

It’s just been over two and a half weeks into January 2015, and I have met interesting people giving me sound advice, and being inspiring so far. Last year was all about trial and error, playing around with ideas, run as many things as... Continue →