Either feeling stupid or tired

33446197.jpg
This is how I felt yesterday, especially evening time. I made a complete a$$ of myself… in my mind it was a slow car crash happening and I didn’t have the power to stop it. Words were coming out my mouth and my brain blinky lights were warning me to stop. It was a geeky tecchie evening I was hosting, and it went according to plan. I got through all the items I wanted to, quick 101 on virtualenv and pip. Questions about IDE preferences segue into PEP 8, which is pretty important when it comes to best programming practices.

If you are curious, these are my notes from last night: https://hackpad.com/PyLadies-Dublin-gsxJwC3Ri88#:h=PyLadies-Dublin-Website—Proj

And you know what really freaked me out, on my way home, when I was on a straight stretch of road (that I’ve been on and familiar with), I kind of blanked out while over-thinking about what happened earlier in the evening with all the geek girls and guys watching and listening to me… all while waiting at the traffic lights. And when I blinked my eyes back to reality, I panicked and thought I was lost on some side street. It was dark and raining, my heart was racing, my brain couldn’t figure out where I was. It was only but for a few seconds, and it was enough to shock me back and give myself a mental kick to keep driving. That was my mantra on that stretch of road, keep driving straight, you will be home soon.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

My /rolleyes moment

So, I organised “female-friendly” workshops. I’ve gotten feedback from a few individuals in the past on why I don’t organise workshops for men, and some apologised for asking it that way, but I know what they meant. There aren’t many... Continue →