Humbled with a bit of defending against mercenaries all in the same day

I was freaking about giving a lightning talk at the Coolest Projects event at DCU last Saturday, in the end everything was delayed. I ended up being the last speaker and people were being correlled to the closing ceremony, so I didn’t have the audience I expected. Nonetheless I carried on.

Here are my slides (if you are curious): https://speakerdeck.com/whykay/my-community

Above all, I was deeply humbled by the hundreds of kids showcasing their projects (software and hardware) to everyone including the judges who have an unenviable task of choosing the winners of certain categories. It was an inspiring day, the excitement, the buzz. This is the future, so diverse.

So well done to the Coolest Projects organisers for an awesome day, and thanks for the invitation to have a chance to talk about my journey to where I am with all my initiatives.

Now you are wondering where the mercenaries come from? We finally got around to play Rogue Trader RPG at my friend’s place . We missed two games, and I know it will be a lot of fighting in this story arc. Just to say that my character was still in her rainbow uniform onesie and leapt to her feet grabbing her nice shiny heavy bolter (see http://warhammer40k.wikia.com/wiki/Heavy_Bolter for image reference) defending our dear Rogue Trader’s uncles house from a mercenary attack.

That’s how we roll, and it was one heck of a geekin’ Saturday! :-D

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Why female-friendly?

During the last year of organising female-friendly workshops and events, I have been getting requests asking why only women can attend, whereas it’s the furthest from the truth. Those questions are fine. Sometimes there are slightly rude... Continue →